Sculpture Walk @ Kent State

fullsizerender-2

On the sculpture walk I chose the “Star Sphere 2010” because I thought it looked cool. The Star Sphere 2010 was made by Susan Ewing, and was made out of stainless steel. The sculpture is located down by Franklin Hall at the front of campus. Looking at the link provided from the packet we were given Ewing said that “It’s what is removed that has the power,” “it’s part of a series on stars”. So, also following what the website says it is meant to pertain to newspapers who have the word star in their names. Also it relates to the power photojournalism has, which Ewing says “changed the direction of America” after the Kent State shootings in 1970. Looking back at the website, it also says that Ewing had it relate to the First Amendment of the US Constitution. So wow, one sculpture can mean many things, interwoven, but relate to each other all the same.

I had found this sculpture before when I was walking around before my class in Lowry Hall, and I liked it, thought it was interesting. Not having enough time to study it further I left to go to class. Coming back to the sculpture this past Monday, it was nice to see it again. I did not know what the statue was about when we found it on the walk last Monday. I thought it looked cool. I liked how the star in the middle was cut out or punched out as the rings as I originally thought spun around it. That the artist made it look as if the rings were spinning o fast that a star that was cut out was able to be seen.

I enjoyed looking at all the sculptures on the walk, especially this one. I wonder if we’ll do something like this again. I’d like that. Sorry this a really late entry but I was sick last week and did not feel up to completing it.

Leave a comment